About us


The Slovenian Musicological Society (SMD) is a voluntary, independent and non-profit association of musicologists and others who are active in the field of musicology. It was established in 1992; its first president was Dr. Andrej Rijavec.

Ever since its inception, the SMD has covered an extensive scope of activities. Its primary purpose is to give prominence to the science of musicology and to enable the cooperation of organizations and institutions in the field of musicology and other similar fields. The Society’s main tasks are the following: to support professional education and activities of its members; to plan and organize professional and scientific conferences as well as to participate in professional conferences abroad; to issue specialized publications; to address topical issues in the field of musicology; to prepare and organize professional lectures and other events. In 2012, the Society was granted the status of the society in public interest in the field of culture.

Since 2004, SMD has bestowed the bi-annual Mantuani Award for life achievements and Mantuani Recognition for exceptional achievements in the field of musicology.

Executive committee:
  • Katarina Bogunović Hočevar, president
  • Ana Vončina
  • Nejc Sukljan
  • Klemen Grabnar
  • Simona Moličnik
  • Lidija Podlesnik Tomášiková
  • Tomaž Gržeta
Student section committee:
  • Vanessa Nina Borsan, president
  • Veronika Nahtigal
Supervisory committee:
  • Alenka Bagarič, president
  • Peter Grum
  • Lovorka Nemeš Dular
Honorary arbitration court:
  • Matjaž Barbo, president
  • Nataša Cigoj Krstulović
  • Darja Koter


Slovenian musicological society
Aškerčeva 2
SI-1000 Ljubljana

Phone: +386 (0)1 241 1440
Fax: +386 (0)1 425 9337
Email: slomuzdru@gmail.com
Web: www.slomd.si